Key: Green = existing Code. Red = new code to be enacted

SENATE RESOLUTION 49

(By Senators Takubo, Rucker, Plymale, and Caputo)

[Introduced February 20, 2024]

Recognizing the World Scouting Museum.

Whereas, In 1996, Dr. Robert Lynn Horne created the Robert Lynn Horne Foundation, a non-profit foundation with the goal of establishing a world-class museum in Las Vegas dedicated to preserving the rich history and heritage of the scouting movement; and

Whereas, The World Scouting Museum is dedicated to showing the magnitude of the influence scouting has had on individuals, families, communities, countries, and the world; communicating the continuing significance of scouting's historical values and principles to present and future generations; and promoting world peace by acknowledging and demonstrating the similarities of youth in every country and culture; and

Whereas, The World Scouting Museum offers a number of exhibits specific to scouting such as postcards showcasing the history of scouting, coins, and tokens from scouting events around the world, World Jamboree Memorabilia, and Council and Jamboree shoulder patches; and

Whereas, It is believed the World Scouting Museum is the custodian of the largest collection of scouting memorabilia in the world containing over 200,000 pieces of scouting history; and

Whereas, Recently, the World Scouting Museum acquired contributions from John Huskins, Camp Chief at Gilwell from 1969-1975, and a 1924 World Jamboree sash worn by the 56 members of the Boy Scouts of America who attended the 1924 World Jamboree in Denmark; and

Whereas, In 2023, the World Scouting Museum moved to a 13,000 square foot building in Charleston, West Virginia with the vision to disseminate the inspirational stories of individuals whose lives have been impacted and changed by the scouting program; therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate:

That the Senate hereby recognizes the dedication of Dr. Robert Lynn Horne for his hard work in creating a repository for international scouting memorabilia; and, be it

Further Resolved, That the Clerk is hereby directed to forward a copy of this resolution to Dr. Robert Lynn Horne, Executive Director.